iSumsoft » Resources » Apple»How to Share Your Current Location with Others

How to Share Your Current Location in Phone/iPad

If you chat with your friends and family on iMessage, you can easily send your location to others to show them where you are. There are several means you can do that.


Option 1: How to Share My Location via Message App

You can share your current location with a person who is using iMessage. Here's how:

Step 1: Open the Messages app. Tap on the conversation you'd like to share your location.

Step 2: Tap on the phone number, then tap Information button in the upper right-hand corner.

Step 3: Then, you will see two options: Send My Current Location and Share My Location.

  • Sharing Current Location: If you want to share your current location, just tap on Send My Current Location.
  • Sharing Real-Time Location: If you want to share your live location, tap on Share My Location.

Share my location via Message App

If you select Share My Location. Choose the duration for which you'd like to share your location. iMessage will set up a temporary or permanent Find my Friends session, and you'll be able to see each other wherever you go.

Option 2: Share your location on Apple Map app

Step 1: Open Map app.

Step 2: Find the location you'd like to share.

If you'd like to share your current location, just tap on location arrow in order to locate yourself.

Step 3: Then tap on the Share button.

Step 4: Tap on Message. Select the person that you'd like to send your location. Then tap Send. People with this link will see your real-time location for as long as you choose, up to 72 hours.

Send my current location in Map via Message

Option 3: Send your current location via Facebook Messenger app

Step 1: Open the Facebook Messenger app, open a conversation.

Step 2: Tap the More icon (three dots in the right corner above the keyboard).

Step 3: Select Location.

If you've never shared your location using Facebook Messenger, the app will ask for access to your location. A location panel will open with your current location highlighted on a map. On this same map, you will see a "Share live location" button. Tap it.

Share live location

The app will stop sharing your location automatically after one hour.